Results Afan Nedd Tawe Schools Athletics Championships

On Wednesday 9th May in what were some of the worst possible conditions for athletics the Afan Nedd Tawe Schools Athletics Championships somehow managed to get all the events completed. Despite this there were several records set not including the 100m breast stoke and 200m front crawl. Very many congratulations to the following athletes on setting new all time ANT records:
  • Hannah Brier (Ytsalyfera) Junior Girls 100m 12.5 (equals record)
  • Anna Barnes (Olchfa) Junior Girls Pole Vault 2.60m
  • Hannah Powell (Llangatwg) Junior Girls Hammer 32.90m.
  • Nathan Phillips (Olchfa) Middle Boys 400m Hurdles 58.9.
  • Dafydd Howells (NPT College) Senior Boys 100m 11.1 (equals record)
Team wise there were victories for:
  • Junior Boys = Gwyr
  • Junior Girls = Olchfa
  • Middle Boys = Bishopston
  • Middle Girls = Olchfa
  • Senior Boys = NPT College
  • Senior Girls = Olchfa.

Download the full results here ANT Champs Results 09-05-2012.xls

Thank You list:
  • Jo Davis on the epic task of drying out and typing up all the results and checking the team scores.
  • Nicole Evans of Penyrheol for all her advance administration and preparation for the day.
  • Chief judges who gave up their free time to help run the day Gareth Evans (Track), Dave James (Starter), Peter Walton, Dai Triggs and Wynford Leyshon (Timekeepers), Jo Davis, John Collins and Dave Jessett (Field). The very best of luck to Dave who is soon off to London as one of the lead officials for the Olympic Games we are lucky to have his expert knowledge.
  • All the teachers for persevering in awful conditions to get the day done.
  • Stadium Staff for doing their usual excellent job and gaining us last minute access to do High Jump and Pole Vault indoors.
  • Swansea Harriers "Team Mum" (and 2 dads this year) for manning the tuck shop Maggie Fligelstone (Lucy & David Bishopston), Delyth Williams (Rhodri & Hedd Ystalyfera), Heather Lewis (Zac Bryn Tawe), Julie Jones (Sam Bishopston), Hayley Harris (Bethan Bishopston), Claire Rodrigues (Abey Gowerton), Gareth Jones (Emily Morriston), Joanne Harris (Rhys Birchgrove), Ian McCallum (Sophie Penyrheol), Wendy Slade (Eleri Ystalyfera) and Ceri Straw (Jack Bishopston), all who did a fine job trying to raise funds for the school district.
  • Sue Leyshon and Ann Owen for all their administration in the announcers box.
Next Fixture:
Wednesday 13th June is the U14 & U16 Cup Match, schools should pay particular attention to the rules as to how many and what events athletes can do in particular the 300m and triple jump. The weather is guaranteed sunshine, download the full event programme here 2012 U14 & U16 ANT Schools Cup Timetable & Programme.doc
A major concern is that less and less schools enter every year and many of those that do bring smaller and smaller teams. Is the event past its sell by date and if not what can be done to improve attendance?