Results Round Up From Belfast, Cardiff x 2 & The Club Awards Dinner

Belated congratulations to the terrific trio of Ifan Lloyd, Steve Smith & Thomas Guest who won team SILVER for Swansea Harriers at the British Masters Cross Country Championships in Belfast back on Saturday 9th March in the M55-64 category, click here for the full results.
Sunday 31st March saw twenty six Swansea Harriers complete the Cardiff 10km incorporating the Welsh Championships. In ideal weather conditions for road racing our top five Men and Women home were;
Men: having a superb run for 3rd place and a sub 30 minute clocking was Joshua Griffiths (29.33) also the first Welshman home to take the GOLD!; he was followed home by 7th Jonathan Hopkins having a great run too in (30.06); 26th Daniel Rothwell (31.02); 17th Phil Matthews (31.54) and 89th Ifan Lloyd. (36.00).
Women: our first runner home was 5th Alaw Beynon-Thomas (34.57) having her usual strong performance to be well placed into the top 10 and in the process winning Welsh Championships BRONZE!; next up was 13th Rachel Davies (38.30) followed home by; 16th Luticia Thomas (39.38); 19th Helen-Marie Davies (39.19) and 35th Sian Kirk (41.18). Very well done to everyone who ran from the club, click here for the full results.
Sunday 31st March at The Cardiff Hammer & Discus throws open U20W Gwennan Lewis throws (10.23m) in the Shot; SW Carys Smith throws (40.91m) in the Hammer and Cassey Grimwade (46.70m) in the Hammer too, well done to all three, click here for the full results.


Friday 29th March was the Swansea Harriers Club Awards Evening held at the glamerous Marriott Hotel. It was great to have over 150 Club members attended the Annual Awards Evening on Friday at The Marriott. Nearly 40 winners were present to receive their Gold Awards, Loyalty Awards, Club Record Holders & The Endurance Group Awards in addition to our other award winners. John Griffiths was thanked for the all the work he had done over the years with the Gold Awards & Wendy Slade for arranging the evening. 

Clubperson Winners:-

U17 Niamh Jones & Steffan Jones

U20 Rachel Jones & Iwan Beggs

Seniors Kate Roberts & Marc Hobbs

Welsh Athletics Meritorious Award:- Steve Ryan

Special Award:- Nigel Jones 

Endurance Section Championship winners:- Helen-Marie Davies & Craig Jones

Hayley Tullett Endurance Award:- Ashleigh Willis 

Alex Pavlou U17 Sprint Award:- Steffan Jones

Gwilym Evans Volunteer Award:- Tony Morris & Andrew Griffiths

Best Junior Athletes:- Lauren Williams & Joseph Brier

Best Senior Athletes:- Verity Ockenden & Kristian Jones

Swansea Sports Lifetime contribution to Sport Award:- Barrie Owen
Thanks to Joseph Brier, Barrie Owen, Donnie Yuen, Nigel Jones & Tomos Slade for presenting our awards and to Ian Griffiths for his great Compere skills. Congratulations to all our winners. For those who were unable to attend your awards will be available to collect from the club cafe from 6pm Tuesday until the end of the year or by contacting