Results Round Up From Sutton Park & The Gnoll Estate and the Welsh Athletics Annual Awards

Saturday 8th October was the ERRA National Mens 6 stage, Womens 4 stage and Juniors 3 stage road relays held at Sutton Park, Birmingham. In a thrilling men’s race our team finished a superb 2nd place behind arch rivals Cardiff against the best endurance clubs in the whole of the UK which was an awesome achievement. Danal Desta got the team straight into SILVER medal position on the first stage in (17.13) setting the 7th fastest time across all clubs and stages on the day; Jack Gooch ran the 2nd stage in (18.04); Guy Smith 3rd Led (17.59) which was the 10th fastest of stage 3; Dewi Griffiths was our fastest leg of the day, and the 2nd fastest across all stages, running an incredible (16.49) to take the team to 1st place at the end of stage 4; Jonathan Tobin ran a time of (18.26) on stage 5 and Jonathan Hopkins ran the final stage in (17.24) the joint fastest of stage 6, to bring the team home in a magnificent SILVER. Showing what strength in depth the club has our B team finished in 30th out of the 82 teams!
In the womens 4 stage Alaw Beynon-Thomas set the team off in (15.36); on stage 2 Verity Ockenden had a great run to bring the team up to 7th in (14.37) setting the 3rd fastest time of stage 2 and the 10th fastest across all stages in the process; Kate Roberts ran (15.23) to keep the team in the top 10 in 8th on stage 3 and set the 8th fastest stage time in the process; and finally on stage 4 Sian Edwards brought the team home in (16.04) to finish in 9th to have a hugely impressive team result finishing so high up amongst the UKs top clubs! Our B team showed strength in depth as with the mens to finish in 44th amongst the 70 starting teams.
In the junior stage relays we only fielded teams in the U15G and U17M sections, where our U15G A team were led off by Mollie Jones who came home in 14th (14.31); on stage 2 Ashleigh Willis brought the team up to 7th (14.39) setting the 5th fastest time on the stage and Caitlin Gwyther brought the team home in an incredible 7th (14.54) from the 70+ teams who started the race. In the U17M Dominic Smith got the team off to a great start in 4th on stage 1 (11.55) in what would be the 6th fastest time across all 3 stages; Elliot Lawrence maintained this position (12.21) setting the 7th fastest stage time of stage 2;  and Joseph Tobin brought the team home in an excellent 14th place (13.45). Our B team ran well to finish in 43rd. 
Very many congratulations to all our senior and junior runners who took part and their coaches and team managers, it is a great experience to compete outside of Wales against the biggest and best clubs in the UK. Click here for the full results. Senior Men; Senior Women; U15G and U17M.
Saturday 8th October was the Welsh Athletics Annual Awards evening and we are pleased to announce that the club had winners in five categories which is a reflection of not just the individuals magnificent and deserved achievements over the last 12 months, but also of the club as whole and the network of support around them. Very many congratulations to Ffion Jenkins (Young official of the year); John Collins (Off track official of the year); Neal Merry (Track & Field performance coach of the year); Hannah Brier (Junior female track and field athlete of the year) and Dewi Griffiths (Male endurance athlete of the year).
Sunday 9th October so round 2 of 4 in the West Glamorgan cross country league at the Gnoll Estate, Neath. In what was the largest field of runners ever recorded in the leagues history there were some great results and once again it was most pleasing to see so many runners out representing their clubs. In the men’s race despite both racing the day before in Birmingham for the B team in the 6 Stage road relays Marc Hobbs (31.04) and Matthew Rees (31.52) still had fresh legs to cross the line in 1st and 2nd place! They were followed home by 9th James Dean (34.25); 12th Thomas Guest (35.07); 20th Wayne Bowen (35.52) and 21st Paul Flynn (35.56) to make up our top six men. In the ladies race there was our 2nd victory of the day with Helen Marshall crossing the line in a time of (20.00); making up our top six ladies were; 5th Rebecca Bennett (21.04); 8th Felicity Elliott (21.40); 25th Penny Kennedy (23.18); 27th Christine Webb and 46th Sian Phillips (25.04). Very many thanks to all those who ran for the club it was much appreciated. Click here for the full results.